SPAB were delighted to welcome over 230 people to the very first SPAB Heritage Awards ceremony at Conway Hall in London where Sarah Khan attended as one of the Judges.

The winners of the 2022 Heritage Awards are:

Philip Webb Award: Michał Saniewski, ​Transformative ​Reconstruction.

Craftsperson of the Year, sponsored by Owlsworth IJP: Ronnie Douglas, conservation bricklayer (Under 30s) and to Wilma Wyatt, cabinetmaker (Career Changer).

The Sustainable Heritage Award, sponsored by Keymer Tiles: No.4, Black Bull Close – the rescue of an abandoned 18th-century building behind Dunbar High Street, by community-based charity the Ridge.

The John Betjeman Award: St Peter’s Church, Knowstone, Devon (England and Wales); The Honan Chapel, Cork (Ireland); Carntyne Parish Church, Glasgow (Scotland).

Best Loved, voted for by the public: Nunwick Barn in Ripon (private category) and Wenworth Woodhouse (public category).

Our Escher Award – given to those who have furthered building conservation and the work of SPAB – was presented to sculptor Rory Young.

Check more on The SPAB Heritage Awards Ceremony: the winners |