Tilehurst is a Grade II listed Building, it was built in 1903-4 for Miss Edith Somers by Muskins to designs of Charles F.A. Voysey who is widely regarded as one of the finest architects of the Arts and Crafts Movement.
Voysey work was unique, modest and memorable, and he was not simply an architect who produced wonderful houses but a designer of furniture, domestic fittings and ironmongery, of flamboyant wallpaper, fabrics and exquisite graphic items. His buildings, principally some fifty substantial houses for individual clients, based on unspecified vernacular traditions, were distinctive, simple, and elegant.
Voysey houses are noticeable not just because their whitewashed walls, massive chimneys and sloping buttresses. It is the mastery of proportion and composition, economy of space and material, grammar of colour and ornament, planning and superb craftsmanship which sets them apart. He masterfully manipulated proportion in his interiors: low but wide doors, low ceilings, wide windows with low seats, high shelves for glazed art pottery were combined to create a light and airy effect – in essence welcoming – punctuated with exquisite yet simple detailing.
RMA successfully gained planning permission and listed building consent for internal repairs, side and rear extensions for a new kitchen and family room.